Monday, January 12, 2015

The College Football Playoff Championship: Oregon vs. Ohio State

National Championship: Oregon vs. Ohio State
Oregon vs. Ohio State: The Championship Game is Set

On January 12, 2015, Oregon and Ohio State face off in the first College Football Playoff Championship since being created.  Oregon has never won a National Championship, nor has ever beaten Ohio State.  Can Oregon end their first College Football Playoff with a National title?

Marcus Mariota won the Heisman
Marcus Mariota (Oregon QB) won the Heisman and had 40 touchdowns in the 2014 college football season

Oregon vs. Ohio State: A Test of Two Quarterbacks

Ohio State has made it to the National Championship game with their third quarterback, Cardale Jones, after the other two were been injured during the regular College Football season.  Oregon is coming to the game with the Heisman winner, Marcus Mariota.  Marcus Mariota is considered more experienced by far, but Cardale Jones is considered the new rising star, rising to success from third-string obscurity.

Cardale Jones is a Sophmore
Cardale Jones (Ohio State QB) has a 159 passer rating

High-Powered Offenses Win Games: Oregon vs. Ohio State

Oregon averages 47.2 points per game, while Ohio State averages 45 points per game.  This is a pretty impressive statistic.

Offense statistic of Oregon vs. Ohio State
Oregon vs. Ohio State both have high powered offenses

The Biggest Statistic of Oregon vs. Ohio State

Probably the biggest statistic that everyone is pointing out is that Ohio State is 8-0 vs. Oregon in all-time games.  Oregon has not yet beaten Ohio State in a College Football game.

Ohio State is 8-0 against Oregon
Ohio State is 8-0 in all time games against Oregon

Both Oregon and Ohio State Beat Very Good College Football Teams in Playoff

Oregon beat Florida State on January 1, 2015 in the Rose Bowl.  Florida State was the defending National Champions from last year's College Football season.  FSU wanted to go to the National Championship game again, but Oregon ripped away any hope of this happening in post-season play.

Ohio State beat #1 ranked Alabama in the Sugar Bowl on January 1, 2015. Alabama has won the National Championship three times since 2009, making them no stranger to the National Championship game.

Urban Meyer won a National Championship in 2006 and 2008 with the Florida Gators, and is going for his third National Championship title with Ohio State.

The Winner of the Oregon vs. Ohio State National Championship was Ohio State on January 12, 2015. Ohio State 42, Oregon 20.

No comments:

Follow by Email